• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Events

Seminar "Studies on the migration of researchers and the academic life course using bibliometric data"

Event ended

The International Laboratory for Population and Health invites you to participate in the seminar: Studies on the migration of researchers and the academic life course using bibliometric data. The seminar will be held on March 4 at 16:00 using Zoom.

Presenter
Samin Aref, research scientist, Laboratory of Digital and Computational Demography, Max Planck Institute for Demographic Research

Abstract

Bibliometric data give us unprecedented opportunities for understanding patterns of mobility among published researchers by analyzing affiliation addresses and other meta-data on scholarly communications. In a series of studies [1-4], we leverage large-scale bibliometric data to measure and model the migration of scholars in different contexts and answer fundamental questions in the intersection of high-skilled migration and scientometrics.

This talk explores four recent studies within the scope of migration in academia and analysis of individual-level bibliometric data. These studies have different substantive themes and are in different contexts and geographies: return migration among highly mobile researchers [1], internal migration of researchers in Mexico [2], international migration of researchers in Germany [3], and academic brain drain in Russia [4]. This talk showcases the insight that we can obtain from bibliometric data and different approaches on modeling scholarly migration for a variety of substantive questions.

1.  Aref, S., Zagheni, E., West, J.: The demography of the peripatetic researcher: Evidence on highly mobile scholars from the Web of Science. In: International Conference on Social Informatics. pp. 50–65. Springer (2019), https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-34971-4_4

2. Miranda-Gonzalez,   A.,   Aref,   S.,   Theile,   T.,   Zagheni,   E.:   Scholarly   migration   within   Mexico:   Analyzing   internal   migration   among   researchers   using Scopus   longitudinal   bibliometric   data.   EPJ   Data   Science 9,   1–26   (2020). https://doi.org/10.1140/epjds/s13688-020-00252-9

3.  Zhao, X.,  Aref,   S.,  Zagheni,   E., Stecklov, G.: Analyzing the migration of researchers to and from Germany during 1996-2020 and evaluating its interplay with fields of scholarship, level of experience, gender, and research performance (2021) Submitted.

4.  Subbotin,  A.,  Aref,  S.:  Brain  drain  and  brain  gain  in  Russia:  Analyzing  international mobility of researchers by discipline using Scopus bibliometric data 1996-2020.ArXiv (2020), https://arxiv.org/pdf/2008.03129.pdf

Time: 16:00-17:30 (UTC+3).

Location: Online in Zoom

Working language: English
To receive the seminar link, please, register until 12:00 March, 4.

If you have questions please contact Vera Sokolova (vsokolova@hse.ru).

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Использование библиометрических данных в изучении миграции ученых и траекторий академической карьеры

Международная лаборатория исследований населения и здоровья приглашает принять участие в семинаре "Использование библиометрических данных в изучении миграции ученых и траекторий академической карьеры". Семинар состоится 4 марта в 16:00 на платформе Zoom.

Докладчик
Самин Ареф, научный сотрудник Лаборатории цифровой и вычислительной демографии Института демографических исследований Общества Макса Планка
Аннотация

Библиометрические данные дают нам беспрецедентные возможности для понимания моделей академической мобильности путем анализа аффилиаций и других метаданных, содержащихся в публикуемых статьях. В серии исследований [1–4] мы используем большой массив библиометрических данных для измерения и моделирования миграции ученых в различных контекстах и ​​отвечаем на фундаментальные вопросы на стыке миграции высококвалифицированных специалистов и наукометрии.

В этом докладе будут рассмотрены четыре исследования миграции в академических кругах на основе анализа библиометрических данных на индивидуальном уровне. Эти исследования затрагивают различные темы и проводятся в разных контекстах и ​​географических регионах: обратная миграция среди высокомобильных исследователей [1], внутренняя миграция исследователей в Мексике [2], международная миграция исследователей в Германию [3] и "утечка умов" из России. [4]. Этот доклад демонстрирует, что и как мы можем получить, используя библиометрические данные и различные подходы к моделированию научной миграции по множеству существенных вопросов.

1.  Aref, S., Zagheni, E., West, J.: The demography of the peripatetic researcher: Evidence on highly mobile scholars from the Web of Science. In: International Conference on Social Informatics. pp. 50–65. Springer (2019), https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-34971-4_4

2. Miranda-Gonzalez,   A.,   Aref,   S.,   Theile,   T.,   Zagheni,   E.:   Scholarly   migration   within   Mexico:   Analyzing   internal   migration   among   researchers   using Scopus   longitudinal   bibliometric   data.   EPJ   Data   Science 9,   1–26   (2020). https://doi.org/10.1140/epjds/s13688-020-00252-9

3.  Zhao, X.,  Aref,   S.,  Zagheni,   E., Stecklov, G.: Analyzing the migration of researchers to and from Germany during 1996-2020 and evaluating its interplay with fields of scholarship, level of experience, gender, and research performance (2021) Submitted.

4.  Subbotin,  A.,  Aref,  S.:  Brain  drain  and  brain  gain  in  Russia:  Analyzing  international mobility of researchers by discipline using Scopus bibliometric data 1996-2020.ArXiv (2020), https://arxiv.org/pdf/2008.03129.pdf


Рабочий язык: английский
Время проведения: 4 марта, 16:00
Место проведения: онлайн на платформе Zoom

Для регистрации на онлайн семинар, открытой до 12 ч  4 марта 2021 г., необходимо пройти по ссылке.

В день проведения онлайн семинара всем зарегистрированным участникам будет выслана ссылка для zoom конференции.

При возникновении проблем при регистрации и подключению к вебинару Вы можете написать по электронной почте Вере Соколовой: vsokolova@hse.ru

Добавить в календарь